Baseball History: World Series Anniversaries


As always, with the start of a new year in baseball history comes some very exciting World Series anniversaries. Which teams are celebrating and which years did they win the World Series, you ask? Read on and find out.

1908: Cubs over Tigers in five

Congratulations, Cubs fans! Just two years after winning your third World Series in franchise history, you get to celebrate the 110-year anniversary of your second championship in franchise history. This Fall Classic was actually a rematch of the previous year’s with the same result. Led by the Hall of Fame double-play trio of Jonny Evers, Joe Tinker, and Frank Chance, Chicago outhit the Tigers in Ty Cobb’s second of three consecutive World Series losses.

1918: Red Sox over Cubs in six

This was the culmination of the great Red Sox teams of the Dead Ball era. Boston wouldn’t win another World Series for 86 years, but at least they won this one. Fun fact: Babe Ruth set the record for the most consecutive scoreless innings pitched in a World Series in ‘18 at 29 and two thirds. The record would stand for more than four decades.

1928 and 1938: Yankees over Cardinals and Cubs in four, respectively

How do you follow up a year in which you sweep your opponent in the World Series? You do the same thing the next year! That’s what Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, and others did in 1928. In 1938, Babe Ruth had been retired for a few years, but Joe DiMaggio filled his shoes nicely, helping the Yanks to yet another October sweep.

1948: Indians over Braves in six

What is it with all of these anniversaries celebrating the last World Series for teams before their droughts? This Series is extra special because the Indians haven’t won a World Series since. But this was still a good one; Hall of Famer Larry Doby batted .318 for Cleveland and fellow HoF’er Sachel Paige made his first and only career World Series appearance.

1958: Yankees over Braves in seven

In a rematch of the previous year’s World Series, it looked like the Braves would repeat as champions, being up 3-1 in the Series entering Game Five. But that didn’t stop the Yankees, who became the first team since the 1925 Pirates to come back from a 3-1 deficit in a best-of-seven

1968: Tigers over Cardinals in seven

Tigers’ pitcher Denny McLain won 31 games in ‘68, while Cardinals’ pitcher Bob Gibson posted a superb 1.12 ERA. However, it was Detroit pitcher Mickey Lolich who stole the show in the World Series, winning three games and posting a 1.67 Series ERA en route to World Series MVP honors.

1978: Yankees over Dodgers in six

AL East playoff game hero Bucky Dent continued his dominance into the World Series, helping Reggie Jackson and company take down LA by hitting .417 and collecting seven RBIs. It was New York’s 21st championship in franchise history.

1988: Dodgers over A’s in four

A hobbled Kirk Gibson hit a miraculous walk-off home run in Game One off legendary closer Dennis Eckersley and it was smooth sailing for the Dodgers from there. But just like the ‘48 Indians, they haven’t won another World Series since.

1998: Yankees over Padres in four

The 114-win Yankees soared all season and continued to destroy their competition all the way to the Fall Classic. Once there, World Series MVP and 1998 All Star Scott Brosius helped the Bronx Bombers take down Hall of Fame closer Trevor Hoffman’s Padres with ease.

2008: Phillies over Rays in five

Our last World Series anniversary comes just 10 short years ago today, when not even a little rain in Game Five could stop Philadelphia from bringing home the city’s second World Series trophy in franchise history.

To read more from Matt Nadel and others, check out our subscription options!